Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Help with LimeSurvey

• Jamesbarnes
  • Jamesbarnes's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 4 months ago #178059 by Jamesbarnes
Help with LimeSurvey was created by Jamesbarnes
Hi guys,

I'm working on a project for an Asian government body. As part of the project, I need to run a survey to collect some data. I was going to use a survey platform like Survey Gizmo or Qualtrics. But the government is now saying that I cannot use a platform that isn't hosted on domestic servers due to sensitive information and privacy issues. So that essentially leaves me with... nada.

So then I found out about LimeSurvey. And then I read that to install and implement it locally, I need an Apache, mySQL and PHP combo. I don't know what any of those mean or what any of those do.

Can someone ELI5 about what I'm supposed to do to get LimeSurvey set up? I'm a complete noob.

Is LimeSurvey even an appropriate solution for me? Is there something easier and better?

Thanks in advance!!
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
5 years 4 months ago #178102 by holch
Replied by holch on topic Help with LimeSurvey
Frist of all a few things:
- Not a very good subject title. Basically everyone who is posting in the forum needs help with Limesurvey. Why else will you open a post here?
- What is ELI5?
- What you need is a hosting environment that supports Apache (a webserver software) MySQL (A database software) and PHP (a programming language). Many many hosting companies out there offer this. So you need to find a hosting company that has server in the country, for the government body to be satisfied.