Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

How Array_filter in previous Array (Text) question and Array question result

  • oikos
  • oikos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
9 years 6 months ago #111978 by oikos
Hi!

Q1 is an Array question with Yes/No answer options; Q2 is an Array (Text) question. And I want the Q2 question have only the selected subquestions marked as 'Yes' in the previous Q1 question.

So, I've put an Array_filter in Q2 question with Q1 code question, but the problem is that all subquestions appear in Q2, as such whether the answer is Yes as No.

In Q2 I just want the subquestions marked as Yes in Q1... Please, how do I do it?
The topic has been locked.
  • oikos
  • oikos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
9 years 6 months ago #112054 by oikos
Please, can someone help?
Tony Partner, please, could you give me some suggestion?
Thank's in advance.
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
9 years 6 months ago #112066 by tpartner
Well, if both questions are on the same page you can use JavaScript to simply filter the rows of Q2 but you will run into trouble if Q2 is mandatory. (a hidden unanswered row in Q2 will prevent moving ahead in the survey)

I think you will need to:
1) add a hidden multiple-choice question
2) use JavaScript to dynamically check the multiple-choice boxes according to the Q1 answers
3) filter Q2 on the hidden question

Can you attach a small sample survey containing that group?


.

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
The following user(s) said Thank You: oikos
The topic has been locked.
  • oikos
  • oikos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
9 years 6 months ago #112071 by oikos
Tony, thank you very much!

Here the example: demo.limesurvey.org/index.php?r=survey/index/sid/726616/lang/es

At the backend ( How Array_filter (ID 726616) ): demo.limesurvey.org/index.php?r=admin/su...view/surveyid/726616

Please, could you show how the JavaScript code would be? I'm newbie about it.

A) If both questions are on the same page?
B) If each question is on different pages?

I hope not to abuse your generosity, but really you help me a lot. Thanks!
The topic has been locked.
  • oikos
  • oikos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
9 years 6 months ago - 9 years 6 months ago #112077 by oikos
Sorry, the links are broken.
New link in frontend: www.instituto-csic.es/uclm.grokis/limesu...x.php/346763?lang=es

Question group in attachment (notice: default language is Spanish)
Last edit: 9 years 6 months ago by oikos. Reason: orthography
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
9 years 6 months ago - 9 years 6 months ago #112088 by tpartner
1) Set up your survey to use JavaScript .

2) Directly after Q1, add a multiple-choice question with the same sub-questions and codes as Q1 (we'll call this "qHidden").

3) Set Q2 (and any subsequent arrays) to be array-filtered by qHidden.

4) Add the following script to the source of the qHidden. This will:
- hide qHidden
- put a listener on the Q1 radios
- if a radio in column 1 of Q1 is clicked, the corresponding checkbox in qHidden is checked and the array filter handles the display of rows in Q2

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">  
    $(document).ready(function(){
 
    // Identify the questions
    var qHiddenID = ('{QID}');
    var qHidden = $('#question'+qHiddenID);
    var q1 = $(qHidden).prevAll('.array-flexible-row:eq(0)');
    var q1ID = $(q1).attr('id').split('question')[1];
 
    // Hide the hidden question
    $(qHidden).css({
      'position': 'absolute',
      'left': '-999em'
    });
 
    // Add some column-specific classes to Q1
    $('table.subquestions-list tr', q1).each(function(i){
      $('> *', this).each(function(i){
        $(this).addClass('column-'+i);
      });
    });
 
    // Listener on Q1
    $('input.radio', q1).change(function(event){
 
      // Reset the hidden question
      $('input.checkbox', qHidden).prop('checked', false);
      $('li.question-item input[type="hidden"]', qHidden).val('');
 
      // Check the appropriate boxes in the hidden question
      $('.column-1 input.radio:checked', q1).each(function(i) {
        var thisCode = $(this).attr('id').split('X'+q1ID)[1].split('-')[0];
        $('input.checkbox[id$="X'+qHiddenID+thisCode+'"]', qHidden).prop('checked', true);
        $('input.checkbox[id$="X'+qHiddenID+thisCode+'"]', qHidden).next('input[type="hidden"]').val('Y');
      });  
 
      // Fire the array filter
      $('input.checkbox', qHidden).each(function(i) {
        checkconditions($(this).attr('value'), $(this).attr('name'), $(this).attr('type'));
      });  
    });
  });
</script>

Here's a working survey (with an additional array in a following group also filtered by qHidden). In this survey, I also added the following relevance to Q2 and Q3 so the whole question is hidden unless a radio in column 1 of Q1 is clicked:
Code:
CI1_SQ001 == 'A1' || CI1_SQ002 == 'A1' || CI1_SQ003 == 'A1'

File Attachment:

File Name: limesurvey...3531.lss
File Size:26 KB

Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
Last edit: 9 years 6 months ago by tpartner.
The following user(s) said Thank You: oikos
The topic has been locked.
  • oikos
  • oikos's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Member
  • Junior Member
More
9 years 6 months ago #112103 by oikos
Wow, that looks great! That's exactly what I was looking for, it works perfectly! Thank you very much for all your work on this, Tony!
The topic has been locked.
More
8 years 1 month ago #130827 by aehruesch
Hello,
I tried to adapt the Code above and it works fine if I'm just interested in the first column. Is there a way to enhance it to the second column (all in all I have 4 columns)?
My JS-skills are very limited (all I know I basically learned in this forum). It would be nice to know, what I have to change in the code above to make my example work.
Thanks in advance,
Eric
The topic has been locked.
More
8 years 1 month ago #130913 by aehruesch
I solved it myself with a little trial and error.

Anyway, this is the changed code for column 1 and 2:
Code:
Hidden question to filter following array(s). <script type="text/javascript" charset="utf-8">  
    $(document).ready(function(){
 
    // Identify the questions
    var qHiddenID = ('{QID}');
    var qHidden = $('#question'+qHiddenID);
    var q1 = $(qHidden).prevAll('.array-flexible-row:eq(0)');
    var q1ID = $(q1).attr('id').split('question')[1];
 
    // Hide the hidden question
    $(qHidden).css({
      'position': 'absolute',
      'left': '-999em'
    });
 
    // Add some column-specific classes to Q1
    $('table.subquestions-list tr', q1).each(function(i){
      $('> *', this).each(function(i){
        $(this).addClass('column-'+i);
      });
    });
 
    // Listener on Q1
    $('input.radio', q1).change(function(event){
 
      // Reset the hidden question
      $('input.checkbox', qHidden).prop('checked', false);
      $('li.question-item input[type="hidden"]', qHidden).val('');
 
      // Check the appropriate boxes in the hidden question
      $('.column-1 input.radio:checked', q1).each(function(i) {
        var thisCode = $(this).attr('id').split('X'+q1ID)[1].split('-')[0];
        $('input.checkbox[id$="X'+qHiddenID+thisCode+'"]', qHidden).prop('checked', true);
        $('input.checkbox[id$="X'+qHiddenID+thisCode+'"]', qHidden).next('input[type="hidden"]').val('Y');
      });  
      $('.column-2 input.radio:checked', q1).each(function(i) {
        var thisCode = $(this).attr('id').split('X'+q1ID)[1].split('-')[0];
        $('input.checkbox[id$="X'+qHiddenID+thisCode+'"]', qHidden).prop('checked', true);
        $('input.checkbox[id$="X'+qHiddenID+thisCode+'"]', qHidden).next('input[type="hidden"]').val('Y');
      });
 
      // Fire the array filter
      $('input.checkbox', qHidden).each(function(i) {
        checkconditions($(this).attr('value'), $(this).attr('name'), $(this).attr('type'));
      });  
    });
  });
</script>
The topic has been locked.
  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
8 years 1 month ago #130926 by DenisChenu
Actaully, witha 2.06 version : really more easy to use "Relevance equation" for sub quetsion.

This topic is set when this setting don't exist.

Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core development are on my free time.
I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH member, professional service on demand , plugin development .
I don't answer to private message.
The following user(s) said Thank You: tpartner
The topic has been locked.
More
8 years 1 month ago #131188 by bogika0107
Can you show me the more easy way with example, because i try the script and any other codes etc. and didn't work. I use 2.06 version. I have to exactly the same solution than Oikos. :\
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • holch's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
8 years 1 month ago #131192 by holch
Well, the easy way is to use relevance equations on subquestions, as Dennis said above.

Just as for questions or questions group, from 2.06 onwards you can show/hide subquestions via the relevance equations for each subquestion.

I answer at the LimeSurvey forum in my spare time, I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH employee.
No support via private message.

The topic has been locked.

Lime-years ahead

Online-surveys for every purse and purpose