Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Call variable/equation as text in answer choice

• Masalas
  • Masalas's Avatar Topic Author
More
3 years 8 months ago - 3 years 8 months ago #203514 by Masalas
Apologies for this - probably trivial - question. I'm even missing the right search terms to find anything in the limesurvey manual / here in the forum. I'm also missing the correct names of menu items because our LS installation is not in English. And I'm a complete LS newb.

I've got a "template" survey here (created by someone else in LS 2, and that someone cannot be contacted anymore). The template can be used to easily perform user evaluations for multiple websites: Each website provider only has to adjust a few variables/equations - such "meta data" is being coded as questions (type: equations). One of them is the name of the website that shall be evaluated. I.e., I've got a "question" of type equation with code NameOfWebsite, and the item text could be mysmallwebsite.org.

Several questions in the survey are like this: "Please rate your first impression of {NameOfWebsite}", which works just fine. However, one of the matrix survey questions needs this text in every sub question, e.g.:
  • I think, the provider of {NameOfWebsite} is a badass. 1 2 3 4 5
  • {NameOfWebsite} does a good job in {PurposeOfWebsite}
  • etc.
And this does not work. It used to work in LimeSurvey 2 (with a custom LS theme that's not compatible with LS 3), so I'm confident it still works in LS 3. But how?

If anyone could point me to the right place in the manual of a thread here, that would be grand!

LimeSurvey 3.20.2+191119, fruity theme with no relevant adjustments.
Last edit: 3 years 8 months ago by Masalas.
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
3 years 8 months ago #203517 by tpartner
At first glance it should work.