Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Embedding YouTube via iFrame with active XSS protection

• Cheatha
  • Cheatha's Avatar Topic Author
More
7 years 3 months ago #147065 by Cheatha
I'm using version 2.58.2+170114 and I'd like to embed a YouTube video. IFrame embedding is gloablly allowed. After editing a question and saving it the YouTube-iFrame is gone. It works with disabled XSS-Protection, but disableing it is not an option. Is this a bug?
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
7 years 3 months ago #147066 by holch
I am not an expert, but I would say that XSS-Protection and Iframe inclusion are excluding themeselves.

I answer at the LimeSurvey forum in my spare time, I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH employee.
No support via private message.

The following user(s) said Thank You: Cheatha
  • Cheatha
More
7 years 3 months ago #147069 by Cheatha
So it's a bug in the UI? That's confusing… :( Maybe this IFrame option should be hidden after activating XSS or be marked as »doesn't work with enabled XSS protection«.
  • holch
More
7 years 3 months ago - 7 years 3 months ago #147070 by holch
As I said, I am not an expert on this. But it sounds logic to me, that the XSS filter filters iframes, as they might be a way to cause trouble: