Recent .htaccess Update Blocking Let's Encrypt SSL Renewal

Mehr
2 Monate 1 Woche her #173585 von nh905
nh905 erstellte das Thema Recent .htaccess Update Blocking Let's Encrypt SSL Renewal
Let's Encrypt requires web access to the hidden directory .well-known/acme-challenge to renew SSL certifications. Limesurvey recently added .htaccess rules blocking access to hidden directories, blocking Let's Encrypt access. I temporarily removed the rule.

Drupal had a similar issue and modified the RewriteRule to read:
RewriteRule "(^|/)\.(?!well-known)"
I am a rewrite newbie, so I have not tried to update the Limesurvey .htaccess rule.

Regards, Norbert

Bitte Anmelden oder Registrieren um an der Konversation teilzunehmen.

Mehr
2 Monate 1 Woche her #173603 von DenisChenu
DenisChenu antwortete auf das Thema: Recent .htaccess Update Blocking Let's Encrypt SSL Renewal
Yes, this need to be fixed …

Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core development are on my free time.
I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH member, professional service on demand (or search sondages pro).
An error happen ? Before make a new topic : remind the Debug mode .

Mehr
2 Monate 1 Woche her #173605 von jelo
jelo antwortete auf das Thema: Recent .htaccess Update Blocking Let's Encrypt SSL Renewal

DenisChenu schrieb: Yes, this need to be fixed …

You already spoted the issue and posted a remark here:
github.com/LimeSurvey/LimeSurvey/commit/...2b8ebf88c296104c5d2c

More and more provider and controlpanels are already applying the exceptions for .well-known on the webserver level. Beside Let's Encrypt there are other ones (e.g. Comodo SSL). Still make sense for LimeSurvey to allow access to subdirectories of .well-known

Perhaps adding this:
RewriteRule "/\.|^\.(?!well-known/)" - [F]

More about .well-known can be found here: tools.ietf.org/html/rfc5785

Are you a student conducting a survey? If yes, tell me why you use LimeSurvey?
www.limesurvey.org/forum/development/116...y-you-use-limesurvey

Mehr