Check out the LimeSurvey source code on GitHub!
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password:
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2

TOPIC: jQuery Autocomplete

jQuery Autocomplete 2 years 6 months ago #106580

  • g3guy
  • g3guy's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Premium Lime
  • Posts: 19
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 0
Denis, Tony - thank you for all your help!

This section now works like a charm! (finally tested)

If I have any nit picks it would be that the options "jump" when selected. So as soon as I select my first option, both options shift to the right.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 2 years 5 months ago #107153

  • lfanfoni
  • lfanfoni's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Lime
  • Posts: 572
  • Thank you received: 111
  • Karma: 25
This script is a fantastic solution! Expecially for italians users...
In Italy we have 110 Province and 8.057 Comuni (cities).
I've adapted the script in order to have a unique ID for cities in each province (3 chars instead 2), beacause in many cases we have more than 100 cities for province.
In this example the lenght of answer code for both scales is fixed at 5 characters (maximum for anser code). First two characters is abbreviation of province (RM is Province of Rome). Lasts 3 characters is the unique ID for both scales, expecially for the Cities, so the maximum number of cities for province now is 999.
I've modified the scritp in the "Substring" arguments. For example:
Old: substring(0, $(this).val().length - 2)
New: substring(0, $(this).val().length - 3)
I attach a sample of this solution, with the modified script (I also commented).
I ask to Denis and Tony the permission to publish the complete solution with the modified script in the italian forum.
Thanks a lot for this discussion/solution.
Luciano

File Attachment:

File Name: dual_scale...char.lsq
File Size:22 KB
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 2 years 5 months ago #107158

  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator Lime
  • Posts: 9346
  • Thank you received: 1338
  • Karma: 386
The script don't have actually a licence ?

MIT surely.... (then yes ... you can copy /paste / adapt / etc ...

And yes : MIT at starting : gitorious.org/ls-selectfilter/ls-selectf...d:selectfilter.js#L3
Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core developpement are on my free time (Say thanks ?).
A bug not reported is a bug not corrected. | Please, read the documentation | La doc en français à besoin de vous
Last Edit: 2 years 5 months ago by DenisChenu.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: lfanfoni

jQuery Autocomplete 2 years 5 months ago #107162

  • lfanfoni
  • lfanfoni's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Lime
  • Posts: 572
  • Thank you received: 111
  • Karma: 25
I've added a comment to documentate my modify. This:
/*
Modified Version by Luciano Fanfoni 04/04/2014
Fixed Lenght of both Answer Code (scale 1 & 2): 5
Firsts 2 chars used to filter. Lasts 3 chars used to identify unically options of scale2
Example of Modified code:
Old: substring(0, $(this).val().length - 2)
New: substring(0, $(this).val().length - 3)


Distributed under MIT licence
*/
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 1 year 4 months ago #120697

  • mas_carpone
  • mas_carpone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Lime
  • Posts: 192
  • Thank you received: 14
  • Karma: 3
Hi Guys,

Back on this thread which I struggle a bit to understand. I have 2 questions here:

1. is there somewhere a summary of how this can be tackled (Denis maybe)? as there seem to be different versions, with bug fixes, etc. Any sort of a "final word" on this?

2. anything "more robust" planned along those lines in future releases?

Cheers!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 1 year 4 months ago #120701

  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator Lime
  • Posts: 9346
  • Thank you received: 1338
  • Karma: 386
Hi,

Already have a 'not finalized plugin', not public actually.
Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core developpement are on my free time (Say thanks ?).
A bug not reported is a bug not corrected. | Please, read the documentation | La doc en français à besoin de vous
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 1 year 4 months ago #120789

  • mas_carpone
  • mas_carpone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Lime
  • Posts: 192
  • Thank you received: 14
  • Karma: 3
Hmmmmm :woohoo: that's a teaser...

A planned release date - or some hints on the plugin itself?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 1 year 4 months ago #120792

  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator Lime
  • Posts: 9346
  • Thank you received: 1338
  • Karma: 386
mas_carpone wrote:
A planned release date
When i have time to test and fix some issue, and to do a clean system and doc.
some hints on the plugin itself?
testing.sondages.pro/limesurvey/529393?newtest=Y
Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core developpement are on my free time (Say thanks ?).
A bug not reported is a bug not corrected. | Please, read the documentation | La doc en français à besoin de vous
Last Edit: 1 year 4 months ago by DenisChenu.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 1 year 4 months ago #120799

  • mas_carpone
  • mas_carpone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Lime
  • Posts: 192
  • Thank you received: 14
  • Karma: 3
The "search" feature is very promising!

Is it still envisaged to have an option along the lines of cascading dropdown lists? (Country, Province, District, etc.)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 1 year 4 months ago #120800

  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator Lime
  • Posts: 9346
  • Thank you received: 1338
  • Karma: 386
mas_carpone wrote:
The "search" feature is very promising!
? select use autocomplete, then you can filter too. The 3 exampe have "search" option.
mas_carpone wrote:
Is it still envisaged to have an option along the lines of cascading dropdown lists? (Country, Province, District, etc.)
Can be done using category in dropdown , but surely some work more.
Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core developpement are on my free time (Say thanks ?).
A bug not reported is a bug not corrected. | Please, read the documentation | La doc en français à besoin de vous
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 2 days 21 hours ago #142126

  • mas_carpone
  • mas_carpone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Lime
  • Posts: 192
  • Thank you received: 14
  • Karma: 3
Hi Folks,

Sorry to get back to this again but I can't seem to fix this myself... could anyone here please help in creating this kind of cascading dropdowns for a specific location (I'm currently working in North East Nigeria and would need it here for the region)?

Would be very much appreciated...

Searching for more I have also found this: www.limesurvey.org/forum/design-issues/8...wn-question&start=15

But could still do with some help guys... :blush:
Last Edit: 2 days 21 hours ago by mas_carpone.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 2 days 20 hours ago #142134

  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Moderator Lime
  • Posts: 9346
  • Thank you received: 1338
  • Karma: 386
mas_carpone wrote:
Hi Folks,

Sorry to get back to this again but I can't seem to fix this myself... could anyone here please help in creating this kind of cascading dropdowns for a specific location (I'm currently working in North East Nigeria and would need it here for the region)?
Hi ,

This is not in gistmaps.itos.uga.edu/arcgis/rest/services/COD_External/ ? If yes you can use github.com/WorldHealthOrganization/ls-callApiArcGIS

Else, if you have somethink like zipcode / town need :
You can download : framagit.org/SondagePro-LimeSurvey-plugi...lob/master/README.md

Just update insee_cp_ville.csv file , maybe some other little adaptation.
Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core developpement are on my free time (Say thanks ?).
A bug not reported is a bug not corrected. | Please, read the documentation | La doc en français à besoin de vous
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 2 days 16 hours ago #142145

  • tpartner
  • tpartner's Avatar
  • Offline
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 6305
  • Thank you received: 1406
  • Karma: 546
A note on Denis' suggested plugin - do not edit the CSV file with MS Excel - it will probably break it, particularly with special characters - use something like LibreOffice Calc.
Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.
Last Edit: 2 days 16 hours ago by tpartner.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

jQuery Autocomplete 2 days 1 hour ago #142160

  • mas_carpone
  • mas_carpone's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Gold Lime
  • Posts: 192
  • Thank you received: 14
  • Karma: 3
Thanks Denis and tpartner!

It is not the town/zipcode kind of feature I need and yes Denis, the data for Nigeria is not available through the web service we normally use for geographical standard. I have the standard breakdown of states, districts, sub districts as an excel this time... and would like to serve those in my survey so that only the relelvant answers (depending on the previous selection) show.

Autocomplete is not ideal unfortunately as most users entering data do not know the region (they are mostly staff of NGOs currently working in the zone)

Thanks for your help guys!

(FYI: we are using LS in this case to try and map out health services delivered to populations in the war affected area and identify gaps to be addressed)
Last Edit: 2 days 1 hour ago by mas_carpone.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
  • Page:
  • 1
  • 2
Time to create page: 0.300 seconds
Imprint                   Privacy policy                  Revocation information and revocation form