Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Anonymization for dummies?—Links to relevant threads also appreciated!

• saggeana
  • saggeana's Avatar Topic Author
More
7 years 1 week ago - 7 years 1 week ago #149752 by saggeana
Good day, my fellow LimeSurvey Community folks!

I find the functionality of the search function on our support forum a bit limited and didn't have much luck, even though I'm sure there are already tons of threads regarding the question I'm asking. So, links to any earlier relevant threads are appreciated, as well as direct answers!

So, I'm just starting out with LimeSurvey and am having trouble with working out the anonymity functionality of surveys, and I couldn't extract the information in an understandable way from the basic documentation either, nor by using google search.

So, I have designed a basic three-page survey (on a self-hosted LimeSurvey 2.63.1) which is supposed to be closed-access and anonymous. I can create new participants using the normal Survey → Participants functionality. I want to use e-mail addresses as a sort of “unique identifier” for participants (quote marks meaning: I don't care if they work as an actual UId in a database management sense), so that I can send the invitations to selected participants by e-mail, preferably via the LimeSurvey's integrated invitation system.

But, I've been having problems during initial testing. First off, the system doesn't seem to want to sent invitations to participants without creating a “token” first. That's all right as such, I mean, database management and so on. But the real problem comes when I, as an admin, can browse a list of participants, see their e-mail addresses and tokens next to each other on a table, and even see if a particular participant has already answered the survey.