Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Subheadings for number array (with responsive support)?

• Magnar
  • Magnar's Avatar Topic Author
More
7 years 3 weeks ago #148882 by Magnar
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to LimeSurvey itself but worked a lot on custom LS templates for my company since fall 2016. This is the first scenario where I'm hitting a wall.

I have a question with a number array using the checkbox layout. The rows include multiple names and descriptions, with ten columns featuring a two-point rating (good/bad). I want to split these columns into five categories, f.e. Price, Support, Quality etc.

Here's an example of how it's solved right now:

What I want to do is to remove the column description in the headings and put them in their own row at the top, like this:

Is there a way to achieve this in LimeSurvey? And if so, is it compatible with the new responsive layout?
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
7 years 3 weeks ago #148936 by holch
The column layout should be doable via Javascript inserting another line on top of the table. I am sure Tpartner has posted similar solutions before here in the forum.

But I see a different problem, because you are using one question, where you actually would need 4. Because the way out layout it right now, people could mark all "good" AND "bad" at the same time.

I answer at the LimeSurvey forum in my spare time, I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH employee.
No support via private message.

• tpartner
  • Away
More
7 years 3 weeks ago #148996 by tpartner
Rather than an array, which does not behave well responsively anyway, I would use multiple questions for each "row" (a checkbox followed by 4 list-radios) and merge them with CSS so they appear to be single questions. This would give you a vertical alignment that works well on phones.

Cheers,
Tony Partner