Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Changing text

• fumo18
  • fumo18's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 4 months ago #177235 by fumo18
Changing text was created by fumo18
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in desperate need of help! :(

I have a single choice question (menu dropdown) ("A1") that asks respondents to choose the party they vote.

In next question i want to display the party, but i need to change the text.

"Let me show an example:
A1) Which party do you vote?
-Party A
-Party B
-Party C

A2:
You said you vote for a left-wing party...."

Only I can do is to show the answer ("You said you vote for Party A"), how I can change the answer with another text?

Thanks a lot
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
5 years 4 months ago - 5 years 4 months ago #177239 by holch
Replied by holch on topic Changing text
You can use if within expression manager.

Assuming that Party A is left-wing and B and C are right wing, you could write something like this (assuming that "Party A" has the answer code 1:
Code:
You said you will vote for a {if(A1==1, "left-wing", "right-wing")} Party.

This is not tested and will obviously have to be adapted to your question and answer codes.
What is does is to check if Party A has been chosen and if this is the case it writes "left-wing", if not it writes "right-wing". This is a very simple example and you can adapt it accordingly to your example, depending on which parties are considered left-wing or right-wing or center or whatever in your example.

Should you have many different parties I would rather use a hidden equation question check the answer chosen in question A1 there and transform it into left-wing, right-wing, etc. in this equation question and then just call the content of this equation question within the text of the next question.