Willkommen, Gast
Benutzername: Passwort: Angemeldet bleiben:

THEMA: Using assignment operator to set a default value for a list type question

Using assignment operator to set a default value for a list type question 11 Monate 2 Wochen her #95660

• ViliLe
  • ViliLes Avatar
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Dank erhalten: 1
Hi All!

I've been using LimeSurvey since 2008 (and donated as well;), but this is the first time I need to ask a question on the forum. Shows how good a resource the manuals and forum discussions are :)

Here's what I'm trying to do: Respondents choose their year of birth form a dropdown list. I want to establish quotas for certain age groups (e.g. only one hundred 15-19-year-olds allowed). The problem is that the quota feature doesn't support this -- I can only establish quotas for individual years, not for ranges of years.

I'm trying to work around this by having a hidden list type variable called agegroup and using that as the basis for the quota. I'm trying to use the Expression Manager's assignment operator ( = ) to assign a value to agegroup based on the year of birth. But I'm not getting the assignment operator to work.

Sample code (placed in the question text field of a dummy question called agegroupcalc):
{if(intval(yearborn) > 1998, agegroup='a', if(intval(yearborn) > 1993, agegroup='b', if(intval(yearborn) > 1988, agegroup='c', if(intval(yearborn) > 1983, agegroup='d', agegroup='a'))))}
{agegroup}

Output (assuming yearborn equals 1990 and agegroupcalc is on the same page as agegroup):

c
a

In other words, the assignment operator doesn't seem to be working, or the variable agegroup forgets the assigned value immediately (and strangely defaults to 'a' even though no default is assigned and it's not a mandatory question). I've also tried assigning to yearborn.code instead of yearborn, but the result is the same. I've also played around with different question ordering.