Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Copy template doesn't work/can't import templates

• dirkse
  • dirkse's Avatar Topic Author
More
9 years 11 months ago #108076 by dirkse
Hi all,

I am new to Limesurvey and installed it this afternoon using a script from my hosting provider to test it out. When I try to copy a template so that I can edit it, is seems to lose references to all of the CSS files. (black text on white with no formatting).
I decided to try exporting the template that I wanted to copy, so that I could rename it and reimport it, but I get a 403 error saying that I don't have permission to do that.

I am logged in as administrator, and there are no software updates available.

If anyone has a suggestion for how to fix this I would be most thankful.

Best,
Anne
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
9 years 11 months ago #108077 by holch
The problem is that the script from your provider obviously did not grant the right permissions to the folders. To upload a template (or to copy it) the "upload" folder needs to have the right permissions.

I would honestly recommend to do a clean install from scratch. It is quite simple. You need to create a database and have the data for it (database user, password, etc.).

The installation process is quite straight forward. The scrips provided by the hosters usually are not very well made and often break the installation. Sad but true. Follow the information about installing LS and I think you'll be fen.

I answer at the LimeSurvey forum in my spare time, I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH employee.
No support via private message.

The following user(s) said Thank You: dirkse
  • dirkse
More
9 years 11 months ago #108078 by dirkse