Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Two-ended scale

• cvestergaard
  • cvestergaard's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 11 months ago #168473 by cvestergaard
Two-ended scale was created by cvestergaard
Hi
I'm new to LimeSurvey and I'm trying to set up a personality type test.
For that I need some regular five-point scales (Strongly dislike to strongly like) but I also need some where the participant has to choose where on a scale he/she is.

Like this:

I...
makes lists 1 2 3 4 5 relies on memory

I've also added a picture to show it:

Can I do this?

Best,
Christina
The topic has been locked.
  • holch
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
5 years 11 months ago #168481 by holch
Replied by holch on topic Two-ended scale
manual.limesurvey.org/Question_type_-_Array/en

Look for "semantic differential".

But keep in mind that this is a tricky question type and not all "pairs" are actually usable with this type of question. I know it is used frequently, but academically there are only very few pairs actually "save", as far as I remember.

A tricky example would for example be your last pair. "Accepts things as they are" and "unsatisfied with the way things are". Those are not mutually exclusive. I can be unsatisfied with the way things are, but I can accept it, because I know that it will be difficult to change, for example.

Or I can be wanting to believe, but I can still be skeptical. I guess you know what I mean. Nothing directly related with your question, I just wanted to highlight that this question can generate a lot of useless data or frustrated respondents, if not done right.

I answer at the LimeSurvey forum in my spare time, I'm not a LimeSurvey GmbH employee.
No support via private message.

The following user(s) said Thank You: cvestergaard
  • cvestergaard
  • cvestergaard's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 11 months ago #168494 by cvestergaard