Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Duplicate Language Hack

More
6 years 3 months ago #162431 by risom
Duplicate Language Hack was created by risom
Hi all,

I'm still new to lime survey and have been learning a lot since adopting this system. A feature I find particularly useful is the ability to create a survey with multiple translations, which makes it easy to re-direct users through separate links.

Regarding having multiple languages, would it be possible to have duplicate languages with different language codes? For instance I could have a German translation of a survey and then have a German-2 translation page that just has different end links?

Now:
My Idea:

While I know there are workaround by declaring panel id's and redirecting respondents off passed parameters, but this option seems like a faster hack as when you add a new translation it already provides you with a field to redirect users with separate links.

So far I understand there are language files that you can upload with translations, but I'm not sure if this is as simple as copying and renaming my German translations files from "de.po" to "de-2.po".

I feel like this process would be simpler to explain to my colleagues then trying to get them to write JavaScript to handle URL's based off respondents incoming ID's. And would be easier to direct respondents from panels or email lists.

Any thoughts?...
The topic has been locked.
  • tpartner
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
6 years 3 months ago #162434 by tpartner
Replied by tpartner on topic Duplicate Language Hack
Personally, I think it would be easier to do it with Expression Manager, token attributes or JavaScript but you can create your own language file as described here - manual.limesurvey.org/Translating_LimeSu...ng_a_new_translation

Cheers,
Tony Partner