Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

Help with LimeSurvey

• jayeshkaka
  • jayeshkaka's Avatar Topic Author
More
5 years 6 months ago #174910 by jayeshkaka
Help with LimeSurvey was created by jayeshkaka
Hi guys,

I'm working on a project for an Asian government body. As part of the project, I need to run a survey to collect some data. I was going to use a survey platform like Survey Gizmo or Qualtrics. But the government is now saying that I cannot use a platform that isn't hosted on domestic servers due to sensitive information and privacy issues. So that essentially leaves me with... nada.

So then I found out about LimeSurvey. And then I read that to install and implement it locally, I need an Apache, mySQL and PHP combo. I don't know what any of those mean or what any of those do.

1) Can someone ELI5 about what I'm supposed to do to get LimeSurvey set up? I'm a complete noob.

2) Is LimeSurvey even an appropriate solution for me? Is there something easier and better?

Thanks in advance!!
The topic has been locked.
  • DenisChenu
  • LimeSurvey Community Team
More
5 years 6 months ago #174916 by DenisChenu
Replied by DenisChenu on topic Help with LimeSurvey

jayeshkaka wrote: 1) Can someone ELI5 about what I'm supposed to do to get LimeSurvey set up? I'm a complete noob.

I realy think you must ask if there are an dedicated informatic service's … hosting on domestic servers is not a noob task ;).

Not the part for LimeSurvey (this is a noob task), but : part server part (web server, email etc … part) …

jayeshkaka wrote: 2) Is LimeSurvey even an appropriate solution for me?

Yes

jayeshkaka wrote: Is there something easier and better?

No, LimeSurvey is best for ever ( ;) , seriously : maybe, but if you need to host on domestic server : you need to setup this server : and this is complex).

Assistance on LimeSurvey forum and LimeSurvey core development are on my free time.