Welcome to the LimeSurvey Community Forum

Ask the community, share ideas, and connect with other LimeSurvey users!

EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) + encryption of tokens & responses

• socius
  • socius's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
More
5 years 11 months ago - 5 years 11 months ago #166886 by socius
Hi all,

I'm not an expert, but I think it's quite safe to say that the upcoming European laws on data protection (EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), in German: DGVO) - adopted on 27 April 2016, enforceable from 25 May 2018 - will change the game for survey research fundamentally (s. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Data_Protection_Regulation ). Survey researchers, even in smallest projects, will have to do everything possible to protect the respondents' information. Encryption will play a major role here. In our case:

(1) Encryption of the personal information (in LS the Token List the email-adresses and ideally also the additional fields)
(2) Encryption of the responses (all columns or columns of choice)