Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: what can make comfortupdate fail ?

what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 8 months ago #71124

  • m_ardito
  • m_ardito's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
i recently (manually) upgraded a very old 1.7x to 1.91+ 11163

now it says there's an update available (11379) so i then tried comfortupdate, but it always fails:

* in the first page it says that something like "update key: valid", but there is an empty chankelox text area below.

* i can proceed, though, and i always get a page where i get this:
"
On requesting the update information from limesurvey.org there has been an error:
On requesting the update information from limesurvey.org there has been an error:

the update server is currently busy..."

(it's not a double paste in this post, it says exactly 2 times the error message above)

now, i tried in different days/times, but it always give me this.
is the update server SO busy? what other can i do to make this work? what to check in order to be sure that a busy server is really the cause here?

Thanks, Marco
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 7 months ago #71886

  • m_ardito
  • m_ardito's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
[BUMP]
on my install, limesurvey comfortupdate uses this URI to contact the limesurvey update server:
update.limesurvey.org/updates/update/111...804/LIMESURVEYUPDATE
and gets

{"error":2}

in response. now, in the admin/update/updater.php file this line

if (isset($updateinfo))

stops the "comfort" update... saying the update server is busy. always.


i think that the response to theat URI is wrong, if you comapre what you get if you were upgrading froma a 11343 version:

update.limesurvey.org/updates/update/113...804/LIMESURVEYUPDATE

anybody knows?

if you askme how i got here:

i tracked down the comfortupdate procedure as my php knowledge allows, but i couldn't figure how a {"error":2} message was produced and why.

then i enabled the debug flag in http class so, before the two error strings, and i got this, where i found the http link above:

Connecting to update.limesurvey.org
Resolving HTTP server domain "update.limesurvey.org"...
Connecting to HTTP server IP 78.46.71.100 port 80...
Connected to update.limesurvey.org
C GET /updates/update/11163/11804/LIMESURVEYUPDATE HTTP/1.1
C Host: update.limesurvey.org
C User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)
C
S HTTP/1.1 200 OK S Date: Thu, 12 Jan 2012 16:44:25 GMT S Server: Apache/2.2.14 (Ubuntu)
S P3P: CP="NOI ADM DEV PSAi COM NAV OUR OTRo STP IND DEM"
S Pragma: no-cache
S Expires: -1
S Set-Cookie: CAKEPHP=28eb29d0bdcb278a6fb40dd1716d17b6; path=/
S Set-Cookie: CAKEPHP=28eb29d0bdcb278a6fb40dd1716d17b6; path=/
S Set-Cookie: CAKEPHP=deleted; expires=Wed, 12-Jan-2011 16:44:24 GMT; path=/
S Set-Cookie: CAKEPHP=0f2944cc47329f258c334b83842aec62; path=/
S Vary: Accept-Encoding
S Transfer-Encoding: chunked
S Content-Type: text/html
S
S b
S {"error":2}
S 0
Last Edit: 2 years 7 months ago by m_ardito.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 7 months ago #71901

  • c_schmitz
  • c_schmitz's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 755
  • Thank you received: 104
  • Karma: 88
Hi!

It is fixed now. Actually we entered the wrong revision number for that release. So on the database we entered '11136' instead of '11163'.
Error:2 basically means that it is not a valid release revision.

Anyway, it should be working now ;)
Support us, too. Donate to the LimeSurvey project and help keep us going!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 7 months ago #71913

  • m_ardito
  • m_ardito's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
:laugh: :blink: thanks, i was really stucked on that message... it probably should be at least documented somewhere, or detailed more in the server response...

anyway. i'm going to try to update now...

Marco
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 7 months ago #71939

  • Mazi
  • Mazi's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 5324
  • Thank you received: 294
  • Karma: 248
You're welcome :-)

If our hints have been helpful and you enjoy limesurvey please consider a donation to the team .
We do all this in our free time and you don't have to pay a penny for this software.

Without your help we can't keep this project alive.

Best regards/Beste Grüße,
Dr. Marcel Minke
(Limesurvey Head of Support)
Need Help? We offer professional Limesurvey support
Contact: marcel.minke(at)limesurvey.org'"
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 5 months ago #75934

  • mfreund
  • mfreund's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Bronze Donor
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
I'm having the same problem as m_ardito when trying to update from 1.92 RC4 Build 12453 to Build 120226. It goes through steps 1 fine, but then at step 2 it gives the error:
On requesting the update information from limesurvey.org there has been an error:
On requesting the update information from limesurvey.org there has been an error:
Update server busy
The update server is currently busy. This usually happens when the update files for a new version are being prepared.

Please be patient and try again in about 10 minutes.

(See screen shot for the actual error.)

It has been doing this for the past week or so, since I got notification for the 120226 (I think) build. Any idea what's going on?
Attachments:
Last Edit: 2 years 5 months ago by mfreund.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 5 months ago #75947

  • m_ardito
  • m_ardito's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Posts: 14
  • Thank you received: 1
  • Karma: 1
yes, if build numbers that you posted are right (i can't check because this link does not work anymore... although it is on this page), you can see that

update.limesurvey.org/updates/update/124...226/LIMESURVEYUPDATE

brings the same {"error":2} string and not the full array that is expected in order to go further with the release...

either the numbers are wrong, or are wrongly set on the limesurvey server side, or else...

Marco
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 5 months ago #75950

  • c_schmitz
  • c_schmitz's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 755
  • Thank you received: 104
  • Karma: 88
Unstable versions cannot be updated using ComfortUpdate.
Please update manually. Thank you.
Support us, too. Donate to the LimeSurvey project and help keep us going!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 5 months ago #76234

  • mfreund
  • mfreund's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Bronze Donor
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Got it -- thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: what can make comfortupdate fail ? 2 years 5 months ago #76297

  • macultra20
  • macultra20's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Fresh Lemon
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
I'm having a similar problem. After clicking the link for the comfort update, my second page says that my key is valid at the top and at the bottom it says "Everything looks alright. Please proceed to the next step."...but in the middle aboe the text bos I get this message:
Warning: htmlspecialchars() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/macultra/public_html/vote/ballot/admin/update/updater.php on line 220
On page three I get this up in the top banner:

Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /home/macultra/public_html/vote/ballot/admin/update/updater.php on line 15 and two of these below that:
On requesting the update information from limesurvey.org there has been an error:
On requesting the update information from limesurvey.org there has been an error:

And then the server is busy too

I can edit the file if I need to but I need to know what to edit. The program is working fine without the update...

Thanks in advance
Last Edit: 2 years 5 months ago by macultra20.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Moderators: ITEd
Time to create page: 0.148 seconds
Donation Image