Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Creating a "payment" question type

Creating a "payment" question type 3 years 1 month ago #64120

• starmonkey
  • Fresh Lemon
Hi Guys,

Today I am looking into adding support for taking credit card (and offline) payments during the process of filling out a survey in LS. I have decided on adding a new question type to handle this via a jQuery dialog/popup (similar to the file upload question type, which I have some experience with). This will house an iframe which will load the payment gateway php page.

Basically I just wanted to bounce the idea off you guys, and see if there is anything important I'm missing.

Some project background:

We have a (tweaked) version of 1.91 RC2 in production. We've effectively setup LS as an "application form" style system, so the use-case is that applicants will have to pay some cash to finish their application and be eligible for consideration.

There is also a requirement for the applicant to choose "offline" and settle it independently of the system, i.e, mailing a cheque, possibly for multiple appforms together - some applicants may be part of the same organisation which will handle payment for them (so I want that org to mail off one cheque, then admin staff will process/bank the cheques, and flag them as approved).

I haven't quite decided on the business-process for this yet - i.e, will the applicant be allowed to "complete" their application with an offline payment still "pending approval", or can we leave the payment "question" to the last page and make having an "approved" transaction a requirement to final submission. That sounds reasonable to me. Not sure yet how that works from a a technical perspective, but the admins will update some kind of flag that the front-end will make use of.