Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Array (Numbers) with Checkbox: Limit number of checked ones in a row

Array (Numbers) with Checkbox: Limit number of checked ones in a row 2 years 7 months ago #76212

• Flasher
  • Fresh Lemon
Hi,

I found in the BugTracker, that when using "Array (Numbers)" with "Checkbox layout" the option field "Maximum answers" is not working (respectively producing problems) because each checkbox is either 0 or 1, so for the logic each checkbox gives an answer (independently of if it is checked or not). Thus, only the number of checkboxes in "maximum answers" works but that didn't make sense/change anything about the behavior.

Anyway, I would like to limit the number of checkbox per row which can be checked. I think what I need is a "Sub-question validation equation" which sums up the values of the checkboxes. This sum must than be smaller or equal my maximum allowed number of checkboxes. Cause I'm new to LimeSurvey and not nuderstand the Expressions completely, I didn't found a solution. I tried things like:

sum(Q8???,Q8???,Q8???)<=2 where I tried different things for ???. Nothing worked. Can somebody give me a hint or solution. Maybe there is even another way of solving my problem.

Thanks in advance.

P.S.: I use Version 1.92 Build 120303
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Array (Numbers) with Checkbox: Limit number of checked ones in a row 2 years 7 months ago #76218

• TMSWhite
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Thank you received: 82
Please attach a copy of the question you are trying to modify (the .lsq file) and we can give you a specific answer.

Re: Array (Numbers) with Checkbox: Limit number of checked ones in a row 2 years 7 months ago #76223

• Flasher
  • Fresh Lemon
I attached an example question. Nothing special. 5 choices on the x-axis and 3 on the y-axis. No logic or anything else.
Attachments: