Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer 3 years 9 months ago #55836

• chupanibre
  • Junior Lime
Hi again

This seems to be a widely discussed topic, but since I am a complete noob I will simply ask about possibilities of "benchmarking" between different browsers. I constructed a survey using Firefox (version 3.6.6), when I try to load the page in IE (version 7), I receive different layouts. (not only layouts, but also behaviour of certain elements of the page). I attached screenshots for comparison.

Is there any efficient way of adressing this issue? Are there specific possibilities with which one can control the behaviour of the survey in different types of browsers?

Thanks,
Chupa

Firefox 3.6.6:
screen_FF366.JPG

Internet Explorer 7:
screen_IE7.JPG
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Internet Explorer 3 years 9 months ago #55847

• Mazi
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Thank you received: 307
It's always hard to help when user have a customized template. Furthermore Internet Explorer and Firefox sometimes behave different when interpreting HTML pages, firefox seems to be much more tolerant while IE often causes problems.

In general you can say that:

1. If the template uses valid HTML and there are no errors, like not closed tags or invalid syntax, all should be shown correct in every browser.

2. Problems might be cause when copy-pasting texts directly from Word because at the background a lot of style information will be copied which you might not notice but these styles might break the layout at certain browsers.

3. Especially Internet Explorer 6 doesn't interpret some HTML elements correctly. Supporting this stone old browser takes much more effort.

4. Certain behavior can be influenced by special CSS files which are integrated for different browsers. You find these at the template editor.

Best regards/Beste Grüße,
Dr. Marcel Minke
(Limesurvey Head of Support)