Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Adding a new language

Adding a new language 3 years 11 months ago #54125

  • Mike1985
  • Mike1985's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Lime
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
I have been advised to create my own language file as I'd like to make some changes to certain blurbs on the questionnaires..

I can see that in order to change a language you have to go in to Global Setting -> General -> Default site language, correct?

From there I pick a language but where are these files located? I have searched through all my folders and cannot find them. I want to take a copy of English and call it say "Mikes Language" and then choose and edit that - where do I do that?

Cheers,

Mike
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 11 months ago #54134

  • Mazi
  • Mazi's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 5426
  • Thank you received: 307
  • Karma: 252
All language files are located in /limesurvey/locale/<languageshortcut>.

If you want to edit a translation, please follow the instructions at our manual.

Best regards/Beste Grüße,
Dr. Marcel Minke
(Limesurvey Head of Support)
Need Help? We offer professional Limesurvey support
Contact: marcel.minke(at)limesurvey.org'"
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 9 months ago #56339

  • Mike1985
  • Mike1985's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Lime
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
I have found the en.po file and I have found the line I want to change. I just wanted to change "This is a controlled survey. You need a valid token to participate" to something more meaningful. Because some of my customers have complained saying they "don't know what a 'token' is".

I edited the file and uploaded it but nothing happened. So I went searching for other appearances of "This is a controlled survey". I found it in the index.php and when I edited that code, the changes worked.

I have been warned before not to edit the index.php so I was hoping to use the en.po file but the changes wouldn't take. Am I misudnerstanding what the point of the .po actually is?

I even looked in config-default.php and the language is set to en. And I tried putting that line in to the config.php anyway. And all my files are running off the same Group/Owner so it shouldn't be a premissions issue...

Any ideas anyone?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 9 months ago #56342

  • DenisChenu
  • DenisChenu's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Moderator Lime
  • Posts: 6561
  • Thank you received: 872
  • Karma: 257
Hello,

To edit the langage file, you need to do it with poedit !

And send po and mo files.

Like Mazi: look at our manual ;)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 9 months ago #56354

  • Mike1985
  • Mike1985's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Lime
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
Am I to understand that once LimeSurvey has installed, it no longer uses these .po and .mo files? Does it actually use them to create the text that I have seen in index.php? Is that how it works?

Because I don't think changing "This is a controlled survey. You need a valid token to participate" to "This is a controlled survey. You need to have been invited" warrants the download of a totally new bit of software AND having to registar a free account.. I don't want to "commit files" - the changes I want to make are SO small..
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 9 months ago #56356

  • holch
  • holch's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 2962
  • Thank you received: 381
  • Karma: 124
No, changes made to the .po and .mo files should show up in your interface.

There must be something wrong.
Have a look at the manual! It is a really valuable source for information. Here some helpful links:
Manual (EN) | Question Types | Question Attributes | Workarounds

If you found this answer helpful and it saved you some time please consider a donation to the project to keep Limesurvey going!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 9 months ago #56358

  • Mike1985
  • Mike1985's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • Senior Lime
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 0
Ok. now we're getting somewhere. So how do I get them working again? I've got the debug set but that's not showing anything...
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Adding a new language 3 years 9 months ago #56625

  • Mazi
  • Mazi's Avatar
  • OFFLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Posts: 5426
  • Thank you received: 307
  • Karma: 252
This string can be edited by changing the translation files as shown at our manual. You just have to use poedit and then replace the .mo file on your server.
You also have to reload the whole page so that no strings are taken from cached files.

Best regards/Beste Grüße,
Dr. Marcel Minke
(Limesurvey Head of Support)
Need Help? We offer professional Limesurvey support
Contact: marcel.minke(at)limesurvey.org'"
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Moderators: ITEd
Time to create page: 0.117 seconds
Donation Image