Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Question weighting

Question weighting 2 years 8 months ago #70101

• opeth4ever
  • Fresh Lemon
Hi,

I'm new to LimeSurvey, and it looks like a very powerful software. Still, I can't seem to figure out by myself whether/how the following survey would be possible:

I have simple Yes/No/Cancel questions, with the possibility to comment. Those I have modeled as lists with comments. Each of the questions should have two different weightings, let's say W1 and W2. They express how important the question is on two different scales.

Example: 'Were you happy with the experience?' Yes/No/Cancel Comment:___
W1 = 5 points W2 = 3 points (those would be the same for all users for each question)

I have several ideas as to how to implement the weightings, but can't do it with LimeSurvey:

- Custom attributes on questions at survey design time. This would be my favorite option, but it doesn't look like LimeSurvey supports custom attributes on questions.

- Multiple columns/answers per question: the answer to a question would be made up of three dropdowns (and the comment textbox). Dropdown1: Yes/No/Cancel, dropdown2: 0/1/2/3/4/5 points, dropdown3: same as dropdown2. In this scenario the user would ensure correct weighting. Preselecting and disabling the dropdowns per JavaScript would be an option. I can't seem to be able to design a question with three dropdowns as answer though.

I'm accustomed to programming in JavaScript and PHP, so I would be happy to hear about workarounds as long as I can get the weightings into MySQL. The statistics will be done using a reporting tool, I need LimeSurvey only for survey design and data entry. Would LimeSurvey 2 solve the problem, and where can I get a development snapshot? Any idea on how to implement question weightings?

Thanks a lot!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Question weighting 2 years 8 months ago #70113

• Mazi
  • LimeSurvey Team