Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Store calculated code with responses?

Store calculated code with responses? 2 years 9 months ago #63583

• ricopoco
  • Fresh Lemon
(Disclaimer: I've been playing with LimeSurvey for, oh, about 12 hours. So, yes, I'm a real newbie!)

We want to run a public survey that is completely "anonymized" yet at the same time would like to minimize repeat visitors. Using cookies is a start, but it is probably pretty common knowledge as to how one goes about clearing cookies. So I'd like to bolster anonymization by recording obfuscated IP addresses as well. In particular, I'd like to salt the IP address (to lengthen it) and then run it through a one-way hash function. This code would need to be stored along with the user's responses . Using the date/time stamp and hashed IP, I could easily filter out apparent repeat entries. Is this do-able?

A couple of notes about this:

1. I know that using the IP address does not guarantee non-repeat responders. However, I believe that along with cookies, it will help keep it down to a "dull roar".

2. Using such a process may prevent some other people from responding (eg., NAT installations, proxied computers, etc.). I can live with that.

3. I don't want to calculate the hash via Javascript -- it has to happen server-side, not client-side.

4. Salting the IP address before it is hashed is to help thwart the use of rainbow tables in attempts to decipher the code.

Thank-you.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Aw: Store calculated code with responses? 2 years 9 months ago #63587

• jelo
  • Platinum Lime
  • Thank you received: 40
Write a landing page in the scriptlanguage you like, which generates the hashcode and then add the hashcode to the url of your survey. Redirect the user to the survey.

Create a hidden question (simple textanswer) and remember the SGQA code.

Learn how to prefill this hidden question with your generated code.