Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Dynamic Dropdown List based on Responded Survey

Dynamic Dropdown List based on Responded Survey 3 years 9 months ago #55746

• tatyeong
  • Fresh Lemon
Hi there,

I am new to Lime survey. I have a requirement to design a survey for people to register their table seating preference for a dinner function.

Assuming that there are 20 tables with 10 seats per table, I envision a survey with a drop-down list containing 20x10 = 200 options. So the dropdown list looks something like this:

Seat 01-01
Seat 01-02
Seat 01-10
Seat 02-01
Seat 20-10

Once someone has chosen a seat (let's say seat 02-01), this answer option is removed from the dropdown list for the people who respond to the survey subsequently.

Is it possible to populate dropdown list dynamically from a label set, with some condition such that it only populates those label that is not marked as taken. This will then require at the completion of the survey, that it updates the label set the seat option that has been taken.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Dynamic Dropdown List based on Responded Survey 3 years 9 months ago #55757

• tpartner
  • NOW ONLINE
  • LimeSurvey Team
  • Thank you received: 810
There is no "out-of-the-box" solution for this.

The only thing I can think of is fairly complicated: Use JavaScript/AJAX to call a PHP script that queries the database and returns the options already selected. The JS then removes those options from the dropdown.

This wouldn't really help though if 2 users accessed the DB at the same time - they could see and select the same options.
Cheers,
Tony Partner

Solutions, code and workarounds presented in these forums are given without any warranty, implied or otherwise.

LimeSurvey is open-source and run entirely by volunteers so please consider donating to support the project.

Re: Dynamic Dropdown List based on Responded Survey 3 years 9 months ago #55790

• Mazi
  • LimeSurvey Team